Sunday, 1 April 2007


For some of you, this may come as quite a turn, but bear with me if this is the case. Leos Janacek(1854-1928) was a Czech composer who is principally remembered for his nine operas which are so incredibly diverse, it's amazing they all source form the same man.

As a sample, one opera is about an immortal(The Makropulos Affair), another an Alice in Wonderland-like affair that may or may not be a result of the protagonist being drunk(The Excursions of Mr Brouček), one tells the tale of life through animals in the wood(The Cunning Little Vixen), and another is set in a Siberian Prison(From the House of the Dead).

I was first hooked on his music on the cinematic release of The Unbearable Lightness of Being which features his music heavily. Then I started listening to his operas and could hardly believe how varied and sometimes peculiar his narratives and music were.

He really was a pioneer and in his innovation was hardly taken seriously in his lifetime.

Leos Janacek Site
Janacek Wiki
Future Performances

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...