Thursday, 5 August 2010

DANGER MOUSE & SPARKLE HORSE's "Dark Night of the Soul" with DAVID LYNCH

Written by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse, Dark Night of the Soul features the talents of James Mercer of The Shins, The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Frank Black of the Pixies, Iggy Pop, Nina Persson of The Cardigans, Suzanne Vega, Vic Chesnutt, David Lynch, and Scott Spillane of Neutral Milk Hotel and The Gerbils.

Mark Linkous, lead of Sparklehorse never lived to see the release of the album. He committed suicide in Knoxville, Tennessee on March 6, 2010.

Despite this and the title of the album, I found it a strangely soothing and uplifting narrative. Here's a taste.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...